Are you talking about the disallowed Mexico goal? It was offside, although apparently it's a clause in the rule of which many are not aware.
I was talking about the disallowed goal...perhaps I'm just "too American" and don't understand these fancy soccer rules, but it sure looked like there was a South African in the goal box.
This comment has been removed by the author.
No, it's an unusual reading of the rules, and lots of people, including here, missed it. This from the Guardian's minute-by-minute text commentary:A surprising number of you have asked me to explain how the Mexican scorer could have been offside given that there was a South African defender on the line. The reaosn is simple: the offside law states that there must be two players between the attacker and the goal-line - usually the goalkeeper is one, but on this occassion Khune had gone on an impromptu safari, leaving just one defender and rendering the attacker offside.Clear as mud. ;)